Chopstick drums.

Today I discovered Nico and Vinz, and then I spent five minutes playing pots and pans as makeshift drums with a pair of chopsticks.

Life is so much better with music.

I was hesitant to share these little details of my life here because I’m an unemployed, part-time grad-student, and people might say things like, “hey Catherine, shouldn’t you be doing homework….or getting a job?”

And YEAH, someone could view the fact that I have spare time to drum on pans with chopsticks as a sign of sloth, but I made time for drumming those pots and pans.

Actually, you know what, I don’t have to defend myself to you, imaginary audience!

My, I’m awfully defensive.

Anyway, I was here to just share the joy of that moment with all you readers of my life, and so I’ve just done that…

Sometimes facebook doesn’t allow you to say enough, and sometimes you’re enjoying being at home too much to leave it and discuss your life with people. Sometimes people find your stories of playing pans with chopsticks less entertaining in reality than you think they will…Blogs have the benefit of you elaborating on whatever that mundane detail about your life was, and allowing you to do it in such a way that you can attempt to make a commentary on life and living in the world in general, and people have to listen to your tirade about pan-drumming because they expect a point.

In reality, when I speak, I sometimes forget the point or anticipate that the meaning will be discovered from the way I look into someone’s eyes intently, or nod my head, or pause dramatically…Which leads me to conclude that I am sometimes better with the written word than with my interpersonal communication.

That may not be true, but I think I develop a lot of inside jokes with myself, that I don’t express in person, but I totally express when writing.

Like the pan-drumming thing. In reality I’d just go up to a friend and be like, “I used chopsticks to hit pots and pans in my kitchen and make music. It was nice.” and my friend would stare at me and be like, “that’s greaaat Catherine…why are we friends again?”. But here, in the beautiful world of the blog, I can say that I had a glorious five minutes of creating lovely music that let me express myself in a stupidly simple way that probably just sounded like noise to the rest of the world but was actually an opportunity for me to breathe in the form of artistic creativity, and sometimes we are so obsessed and overburdened by life and our struggles and our stresses that we feel trapped and isolated, and sometimes we just need to bang on pots with chopsticks and create something.

And sometimes you gotta be responsible and read four chapters of SLA research.

I’ll do that now.

Thank you for reading, have a lovely Saturday, God loves you.

-writingcatherine

About writingcatherine

This started as a documentation of my adventures in Europe...but hey, life's an adventure in itself.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chopstick drums.

  1. Have a lovely Saturday, yourself. I thought your chop stick drumming was charming. 😉

What do you think?

