What’s been happenin lately.

Hello blog people, it’s me, writingcatherine.

I haven’t left the country recently, or had any major surgeries, so I guess I’ve kinda let my writing here slow down to reflect that.

I have, on the other hand, been going to grad school and playing music. I write songs about ridiculous things and then play them for people who stare at me in surprise and sometimes applaud and smile. It brings me joy.

I don’t try to write about ridiculous things, I just start singing to myself while strumming various chords, and it happens.

I also tend to not think the things are really ridiculous, but people tend to respond to my blatant statement of things with laughter, so I guess I catch them off guard and bring them joy. I probably shouldn’t try to understand them.

On the other hand, if I understand what people like, then I can just write endless songs on those topics and be loved by them all. However then I’d just be writing for the people instead of me, and it’s not that my ultimate goal is to be strumming on the ukulele all by myself and sharing my music with no one, but the strumming is also not about being loved by people.

More just a need to compose and a need to be heard.

I think art might be that way, people do it because they can’t not.

They can’t not write.

They can’t not sing.

They can’t not paint masterpieces that people stare at for decades and are drawn to by feelings they still don’t even understand completely.

Anyway, I am not saying my songs are masterpieces, merely that they demand to be composed sometimes.

And besides songs and grad school, that’s all I have to say.

My blog is now updated.

See you in two months.

Mwahaha.

Maybe a week.

We’ll see.

Peace.

-writingcatherine

About writingcatherine

This started as a documentation of my adventures in Europe...but hey, life's an adventure in itself.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

