Mint Green Tea

I’m seriously considering having new titles for all of my future posts that are all about whatever I happen to be eating or drinking and have absolutely no relation to the topic I’m writing about…Also, mint green tea sounds really good and like it would be delicious over ice.

OKAY, so, on a different note, I have 8 days until my two final papers of my first year of grad school are due, and 5 days until my third to last paper is due, and I figure that now is a good time to compose a blog post and take stock of my life over the past couple months.

Firstly, grad school has been intermittently driving me crazy and solving my problems. The craziness is a result of the fact that I’ve never actually taught a class on my own before, and I don’t have the level of experience that everybody else in my class either has or is getting, and so when I get an assignment like “Design a Lesson Plan”, I’m paralyzed by fear for a moment before I run to my English Professor Dad and former teacher brother, and ask them how I am supposed to be doing what I am supposed to be doing. This problem is actually continuing to persist, because I originally got on the computer with the intention of finding sample paragraphs to utilize in my lesson plan, and when my search became fruitless I wound up on here searching for a personal narrative. On the opposite side, this terrifyingly new experience of grad school has solved the problem of me having no idea of what to do with the amounts of free time I would presumably have between twenty-four and death. Studying for something that could actually be a career or something that I’ll do for the rest of my life is probably good.

Which brings me back to the terror of the fact that I have never had my own class to teach. Except Grad school should alleviate that fear by preparing me to teach my own class. Except all the assignments seem to be rather dependent upon you already knowing how to teach.
I don’t entirely understand this system.

So that’s gradschool.

Secondly, I’ve been playing music awkwardly in the corner of people’s birthday parties, after convincing their family members to acquire a ukulele for me, because I’m pretty much addicted to playing that instrument, and hopefully I’ll work more on my cd this summer.

Thirdly, I have a license to legally operate motorized vehicles.

That’s my life from the last however long it’s been…I think I’m going to go drink some more tea now.

Peace friends.

Feel free to pray for me to successfully figure out what I’m doing with the rest of my life! Or just for those three papers…Which I am totally going to go work on now.

– Catherine

About writingcatherine

This started as a documentation of my adventures in Europe...but hey, life's an adventure in itself.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

