I’m still here.

The best way to get followers is by posting, right? Right.

And I, like so many of those wonderful people in the world, like attention and want more followers. So why not update you on my life!?

Today I updated my Facebook status. I let everyone know that I was eating baby carrots. Because the best use of a form of technology that lets me communicate with over three hundred people in one instant is to tell them about snack time.

Now I’ve moved to WordPress to tell my blog readers about it.

I think it has something to do with that great human desire for love and attention. Mix that with the ability to say whatever we want on the internet, whenever we want, and suddenly you’re letting the whole world know about what you ate for breakfast.

It’s not very exciting, it’s not very interesting, it’s not even important to anyone outside of yourself and whatever person might secretly be stalking your every move, but you do it, people do it.

Congratulations Internet, you feed that human desire to be seen. But we’re not really heard. I mean, sure, people acknowledge it, acknowledge you, but while you enjoy that for one split second, what you really want is for someone to see you for who you really are, and accept you for who you really are, and to really be there. You want more than just someone who clicks a like button, or writes a three word response.

More than someone who will talk to you on their phone or computer, but will always be on their phone or computer, even when you’re physically in the same room as them.

Technology allows us to talk, sure…but do we really communicate anymore?

We can say whatever we want, but do we know how to listen?

…And I don’t have a solution. I’m not even entirely sure of the problem, because then again, if people really want to communicate, it seems that they will, and if they want to maintain semblances friendships via the internet and technology, I guess they’ll do that too. The internet allows us to maintain those friendships that would have ceased to exist years ago, when we graduated college or high school…Which is good…Except sometimes you want friends that are literally there, to share experiences and time with. Sometimes you need more than words on a screen. Sometimes you actually need to just be with people….and eat baby carrots with them.

-writingcatherine

About writingcatherine

This started as a documentation of my adventures in Europe...but hey, life's an adventure in itself.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m still here.

  1. blondeusk says:

    I totally agree!! Well said!

    Eating baby carrots with someone is brill and more people should do it!

    • Thank you for agreeing, now we just have to figure out how to get people to actually interact. The paradox of using the internet to tell people to get off the internet… I should go find some people to eat carrots with.

What do you think?

