Sometimes I forget

Sometimes I forget,

I look at today and think this is it.

I don’t remember where I’ve been or what I’ve done or who I am,

I just see what’s before me and gawk at the vast span

of time, of space, of opportunities missed and lost

all I see are the failures, the pain, and the cost.

 

Sometimes I forget,

I look at the past and I don’t see it,

that I’ve been through this and that,

and I’ve held on and I’m better than this flat

moment in time, this indelible point by point line,

all I see is what I’ve lost, the cost.

 

Sometimes, I forget.

I look at the future and I can’t see it.

I can’t hold on to the hope and the dream,

I can’t remember what I’ve lost isn’t all it does seem

to be, and I can’t see the joy and the hope and the love,

the future so bright, so blessed from above.

 

Sometimes I forget, but I’m trying to remember.

 

 

 

About writingcatherine

This started as a documentation of my adventures in Europe...but hey, life's an adventure in itself.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

