How I prepare for an open mic night:

I wake up after an insufficient amount of sleep.
I babysit my nephew for 11 hours.
I research grad school.
I update my blogs.
I drink tea.
I forget to tune my ukulele.
I frantically think about which of my seven songs I’m going to play for the sixth time.
I try to remember the words to whichever song I decide upon.
I try to find my most acceptable, slightly nice, but still not trying too hard, outfit.
I practice playing for twenty minutes.
I proceed to freak out.
At this point I decide that I am sufficiently ill-prepared to go to open mic night, and make my way to the coffee shop that holds it.

The end.

It’s a wonder that they still let me come back after doing this five months….they’re probably not allowed to discriminate against people who forget to practice or shake uncontrollably while playing. Yay.

 

About writingcatherine

This started as a documentation of my adventures in Europe...but hey, life's an adventure in itself.
This entry was posted in Life after Graduating College and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

