I play Ukulele

I performed a new song at open mic night this week.

Apparently it was hilarious.

I mean, I knew it was funny, but I didn’t know it was that funny.

I guess songs about neurosurgery and being punk-ish played on ukulele, with extremely matter of fact lyrics like “My doctor told me they had to do surgery and I said “NO.” Just kidding, I said “of course” because otherwise I might die, or become paralyzed” are funny. Plus there was the fact that my chorus was entirely unrelated to the rest of the lyrics…because then I just sang “PUNK SONG! PUNK SONG! I’m playing Ukulele!” over and over and then threw in something about how I was playing the same three chords again and again.

My brother says I could be a ukulele singing comedian. Yep. Apparently people appreciate sarcasm when it comes in ukulele form.

ANYHOW, that was what I did tonight, sat in the cold for two hours and then played one 5 minute song for an audience of twenty or so. I also drank lemon and ginger tea with honey.

I’m no longer terrified of the audience. Perhaps because I’ve kind of stopped caring what the complete strangers think of me. Or I know that they will probably like me….

Okay. It’s nearly 2am, so goodnight wordpress world.

– Catherine

(Also, the fact that I was hilarious and also good was documented by several fellow musicians with extraordinary talent of their own that I congratulated. Upon my commendation of their work, they felt inclined to commend mine. There was mutual commendation all around. It was nice. The end.)

About writingcatherine

This started as a documentation of my adventures in Europe...but hey, life's an adventure in itself.
This entry was posted in Life after Graduating College and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

