Fear

I don’t know if I’ll ever really know what it’s like to be chased by a herd of hungry lions, captured by pirates and forced to walk off the plank into a pool of hungry sharks, or dropped out of a plane at twelve thousand feet only to discover my parachute has malfunctioned, but I think I had a taste of any of these experiences Friday night.

Exaggerating? Me? Of course not.

Crowds of your peers are intimidating, especially when the house lights are off and the spot light is on you. Sitting in a chair. Hiding behind a ukulele.

Ukuleles aren’t very good to hide behind, they are small and can really only block little portions of you at a time, and then people start to notice that there is a person behind the small musical instrument, and then they expect to start hearing music.

So I played a song for my audience of twelve, and my arms shook like there was an earthquake, and my voice quivered, and my ukulele refused to play the correct chords to a revamped “Somewhere over the Rainbow”.

Then I made some faces, finished my song, and proceeded offstage, while the audience clapped and I tried hard not to be seen.

My friend claimed to not see the shaking. A fellow musician congratulated me on the song, another high-fived me. I just walked out of the building and tried, ever so hard, not to fall over or drop the ukulele bag that I grasped with trembling hands.

 

About writingcatherine

This started as a documentation of my adventures in Europe...but hey, life's an adventure in itself.
This entry was posted in Life after Graduating College. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

