Budgets

I figure that writing about this will make it easier to cope with in the future.

I can spend 576.75 dollars on food for the next 16 weeks before the fact that I switched my meal plan from the 1510 dollar one to the 720 one becomes worthless as I didn’t save much of the 790 I got back.

Currently, I eat 5 meals a week in the cafeteria, and have 175 (150 left) of the “Munch Money” which are two words simply meaning coffee and junk food.

I’ve already spent 213.25 dollars in the first 3 weeks of my school starting, and my bank account has $ 197.63 left.

I have enough ingredients for 4 peanut butter in jelly, or tuna fish sandwiches, before I need to buy more bread. I have 3 cups of yogurt, various pieces of fruit I pilfer from the cafeteria (we are allowed to take one piece out upon every exit, I follow this rule quite strictly), uncooked spaghetti noodles, spaghetti sauce, an eighth of a 1 lb block of cheese, a large bag of frozen blueberries, 2-3 cups of raw almonds, a large bag of flour, baking soda, canola oil, relish, mayo, mustard, a several ounce container of steel cut oats, and lots and lots of tea.

I have Febuary, March, April, and 2 weeks of May, and I figure I can spend 144 dollars in each of them and tie what a food plan would have cost me (which means I’d spent only 790 on my own, and 1510 total -because the 720 meal plan is separate).

I’m hoping that I don’t spend 144 dollars for two weeks of May so that I actually saved money with this plan.

I need to budget….How can I spend less than 100 bucks on food a month for the next 3 months?

What do college students eat? What can I eat? What’s a healthy breakfast-lunch-dinner plan that I can stick to?

5 nights a week I have dinner in the caf, and I have an oatmeal breakfast probably enough to last for the next couple weeks.

So what’s a good, healthy, easy, cheap lunch that I can eat for the next 3 months that won’t spoil easily and won’t leave me feeling like I’m starving?

Any tips for making great food and saving money?

Help me out!

Thanks!

Also, I wrote this really quickly right before heading out to Church and haven’t the heart or energy to change it to be more understandable, clear, insightful, or amusing. But I did find out that I can freeze carrots! That’s going to be very beneficial in the future.

 

P.S. Mom, don’t freak out. I will seriously survive and eat well, I just want to do so in the cheapest way possible.

About writingcatherine

This started as a documentation of my adventures in Europe...but hey, life's an adventure in itself.
This entry was posted in Life after Graduating College. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

