Home

I didn’t write much when I finally got home. In fact, I didn’t write anything once finals ended and I was in a packing, cleaning, and farewell-ing frenzy.

The first thing I did write was an unfinished, unpublished post on sleep deprivation that simply said “I am so happy to be back home, and I have a serious problem. I’ve hit the inability to sleep mark. It’s 3 in the morning, and I am writing. NO MORE!”

And that was all I had for my post from Home.

The midnight mass at the Kartause was wonderful. Playing my ukulele one last time in the LCI classroom, and being shot with nerf gun darts for it, memorable. Then a 3am bus ride to Vienna, where I sat next to my Hungarian friend, and tried to make the most of our first and last bus ride together, talking until I couldn’t keep my eyes open, and drifted into sleep.

Then there were the several hours in the Vienna airport, as we arrived at 5 and didn’t leave until 9. I got to spend a precious last few moments with my European friends.

Then my sister and I began our air travels, and I’ve been in America since Friday, December 16, at 4:25 pm, when I landed in the San Francisco air port.

Of course, it was really 1:25 am on Saturday the 17 my time, and I hadn’t had but a few hours of sleep on Wednesday the 14, and then no sleep on the 15, except for the scattered bus naps and plane naps, though I suppose it might have added up to 5 or 6 hours, in a 48 hour period. International travel is wonderful.

I hope to stay in America for a nice long while before I travel again.

Europe was nice, but it’s great to be home.

About writingcatherine

This started as a documentation of my adventures in Europe...but hey, life's an adventure in itself.
This entry was posted in Life after Graduating College. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

